Sunday, January 18, 2009

President George W. Bush's 21-member Cabinet - 6 out of 21 (28%) are CFR-members

President Bush's Cabinet

The tradition of the Cabinet dates back to the beginnings of the Presidency itself. One of the principal purposes of the Cabinet (drawn from Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution) is to advise the President on any subject he may require relating to the duties of their respective offices.

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments - the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, and the Attorney General. Under President George W. Bush, Cabinet-level rank also has been accorded to the Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency; Director, Office of Management and Budget; the Director, National Drug Control Policy; and the U.S. Trade Representative.

Current CFR-members in President George W. Bush's 21-member Cabinet:

Secretary Robert M. Gates - Defense
Secretary Elaine Chao - Labor
Secretary Condoleezza Rice - State
Secretary Henry M. Paulson, Jr. - Treasury

Richard B. Cheney - Vice President
Ambassador Susan Schwab - US Trade Representative

2006 Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) Membership Roster

2007-2008 Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) Membership Roster
(including Current and Historical Rosters of Directors and Officers)

Joshua B. Bolten

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...